Sign up Forgotton password
Bigger font: А+
Smaller font: A-
Normal font: A


01 Novemver 2022
In 2022, the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage celebrates its 50th anniversary.
On 16 November 1972 the General Conference of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) noting the outstanding value of cultural and natural heritage not only for the individual nation, but for the whole humanity, as well as the threats to its preservation and the need for the establishment of an international system for effective protection adopted the Convention concerning the Protection of World Cultural and Natural Heritage. This unique international treaty links together in a single document the concepts of nature conservation and the preservation of cultural properties.
By regarding heritage as both cultural and natural, the Convention reminds us of the ways in which people interact with nature, and of the fundamental need to preserve the balance between the two.
Bulgaria was one of the first countries to join the Convention for the Protection of World Cultural and Natural Heritage in 1974. Currently, 10 sites on the territory of the country are included in the World Heritage List - 3 natural and 7 cultural sites: Srebarna Nature Reserve; Pirin National Park, Central Balkan National Park - part of a serial European World Heritage property „Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe“, Ancient City of Nessebar, Boyana Church, Madara Rider, Rila Monastery, Rock-Hewn Churches of Ivanovo, Thracian Tomb of Kazanlak and Thracian Tomb of Sveshtari.
For 50 years now, UNESCO has been working with countries around the world to identify cultural and natural sites of outstanding universal value that merit to be designated as World Heritage and to ensure their preservation for future generations.
With near universal ratification by 194 States Parties, the World Heritage Convention is now one of the most ratified international conventions in history.
Today in the World heritage list are included 1,154 cultural and natural World Heritage properties located in over 160  countries across the globe.
The designation of sites as world heritage is recognition of their outstanding universal value and is a testimony to the continuous aspiration of the world community to protect the most significant natural sites and cultural achievements for future generations.
Through the 1972 Convention countries around the world vow to safeguard the places of outstanding universal value through local, national, regional and international actions.
The theme for the anniversary year is “The Next 50: World Heritage as a source of resilience, humanity and innovation.” Five key areas will orient the reflection on the Next 50: Climate Change and Heritage Conservation; Balanced Representation of the Inscribed Sites; Sustainable Tourism; Digital Transformation; and Post-COVID-19 Recovery.
(In the preparation of the material was used information from web page of the World Heritage Convention of UNESCO -